Edo 2020: INEC releases list of candidates, Obaseki, Ize-Iyamu, 12 others


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), on Tuesday, released the provisional list of governorship candidates for the Edo governorship election holding September 19, 2020.

In the list released by INEC, there are 14 names of candidates from 14 political parties, comprising of 13 males and one female.

The incumbent Edo State Governor was named in the list as the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), while Osagie Ize-Iyamu was named as the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Also, the INEC national commissioner and chairman, information and voter education committee, Festus Okoye, in a statement released on Tuesday, said: “At the close of nominations at 6pm on June 29, 2020, 14 political parties used the dedicated online portal of the commission to submit the list of candidates that emerged from their primaries.

ALSO READ: Keyamo gives go ahead to 774,000 jobs committees, says only Buhari can stop recruitment, not NASS

“We encourage members of the public to go through the nomination forms, affidavits and documents submitted by the parties on behalf of their candidates, as any person who has reasonable grounds to believe that any information in the affidavit or any document submitted by any candidate is false, may file a suit at the Federal High Court, High Court of a State or the FCT against such a candidate seeking a declaration that the information contained in the affidavit is false.

“The provisional list of the candidates disaggregated on the basis of name, gender, age and qualification has been uploaded on our website and social media platforms. Furthermore, and as required by law, the particulars of the nominated candidates will be published in the Edo State office of the commission and simultaneously uploaded on our website Thursday, July 2, 2020.

“The final list of duly nominated candidates will be published on August 13 2020 after withdrawals by candidates and substitution by their political parties.”

Below is the list:

AA — Obhafuoso Paul, E   — Governor;

Sunday Johnbull  —      Deputy Governor

ADC — Akhigbe B Ehiabhi — Governor;

Mabel Oboh          —      Deputy Governor

ADP — Ibio L Emmanuel    — Governor;

Demond Imasuen —      Deputy Governor

APC — Osagie Andrew Ize-Iyamu — Governor;

Audu Ganiyu —  Deputy Governor

APGA — Lucky Osagie Idehen — Governor;

Isah Asekhaimeh — Deputy Governor

APM — Igbineweka Osamuede —Governor;
Obiyan Christian —  Deputy Governor

APP — Amos Osalumese Areloegbe—  Governor;
Afolabi Ogah  —   Deputy Governor

LP — Osifo Uhun-Ekpenma Isaiah —Governor;
Omobayo Marvellous — Deputy Governor

NNPP — Agolebun Tracy — Governor;
Enobhaysobo Jonathan    —    Deputy Governor

NRM — Stevie Nash Ozono — Governor;
Osadolor Eghe Festus —  Deputy Governor

PDP — Godwin Nogheghase Obaseki — Governor;
Philip Shaibu —  Deputy Governor

SDP — Felix Ikezor Obayangbon — Governor; Omion Omonye —      Deputy Governor

YPP — Jones Osagiobare — Governor;
Samson Olukayode Idowu —  Deputy Governor

ZLP — Akhalamhe Amiemenoghena— Governor;
Thompson Osadolor — Deputy Governor