INEC declares Godwin Obaseki winner of Edo governorship election

Godwin Obaseki

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Godwin Obaseki, winner of the Saturday, September 19, 2020 governorship election in Edo State.

Obaseki, defeated the All Progressive Congress (APC) candidate, Osagie Ize-Iyamu, and 12 others to emerge the winner in the keenly contested election.

He was declared the winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Returning Officer for the poll, Prof. Akpofure Rim-Rukeh, on Sunday, at INEC office, in Benin City.

Announcing the results, Rim-Rukeh, said, Obaseki polled 307,955 of the total votes, 84,336 more votes than his closest rival Ize-Iyamu, who got 223,619 votes.

ALSO READ: Edo election 2020: Obaseki of PDP, Ize-Iyamu of APC win polling units

Obaseki was returned elected after polling the highest number of votes in the keenly-contested election.

The election had been held in all the 18 Local Government Areas of Edo State.

In the election, a total of 14 political parties fielded candidates to contest for the office of the governor in the state.

It is the first governorship poll to be conducted by INEC since the outbreak of coronavirus (COVID-19) in the country.