Edo election 2020: Obaseki of PDP, Ize-Iyamu of APC win polling units


The two top contenders in the Edo State governorship election, Governor Godwin Obaseki of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress (APC), have won their polling units.

Obaseki, won his polling unit in Oredo Ward 4, Unit 19 in Oredo Local Government Area of the state, with 184 votes while Osagie Ize-Iyamu of All Progressives Congress got 62 votes.

In the same ward, Unit 21, PDP got 53 votes while the APC polled 33 votes. Obaseki’s PDP polled 70 votes ahead of Ize-Iyamu’s APC that garnered 65 votes. In Unit 23, it was PDP 101, APC 32.

Also, in Unit 24 of the same Oredo Ward 4, PDP won with 94 votes, while the APC got 50 votes, while in Unit 25, the PDP got 33 votes ahead of the APC that had 22 votes.

ALSO READ: Edo election 2020: Anxiety as sorting, counting of votes begin

At Unit 26 the APC scored 40 votes and the PDP got 98 votes, while in Unit 7, the PDP got 93 votes, APC 28 votes, while in Unit 28, it is PDP, 77 votes and APC, 39 votes

The APC candidate, Ize-Iyamu, in his polling unit at Ward 5, Iguododo community in Orhionwon Local Government Area, polled 292 votes while Obaseki of PDP polled 21 votes.

Ize-Iyamu voted 9:30 am at polling unit 26, ward 5 in Iguododo community, Orionhwon Local Government Area, after which he expressed satisfaction in the process.

He also confidence that he would win the poll if the peaceful situation at his unit was the same everywhere, as he commended INEC for good arrangements put in place for the poll.

“The accreditation is very easy, I have done that and they gave me the ballot paper. Where the ballot box is placed is covered and that means you can vote with some level of privacy.

“I cannot say that what is happening here is happening all over the state because the communication is not very good.

“I am happy I have been able to vote. I am very confident of winning and I just hope what is happening here is replicated all over the state,” Ize-Iyamu said.

Voting ended in most of the areas at 2.30 pm.