Elections: Osinbajo arrives Sierra Leone, to address press conference Monday

Sierra Leone
Prof Yemi Osinbajo, SAN, on his arrival in Freetown, Sierra Leone, on Saturday, June 17, as the Chairman Commonwealth Observer Group (COG) to oversee the monitoring of the country's national elections holding on Saturday, June 23, 2023. Photos: Tolani Alli

Nigeria’s immediate past Vice President, Prof Yemi Osinbajo, SAN, has arrived in Freetown, Sierra Leone to lead the Commonwealth Observer Group (COG) to monitor the country’s general elections.

On his arrival in Freetown, Osinbajo, a Professor of Law, was received by officials at Freetown International Airport, located in the coastal town of Lungi, Sierra Leone, Saturday afternoon, June 17.

Preparatory to Saturday, June 23 elections, Osinbajo will address a press conference in Freetown, as the Chairman of the COG Chairman, who will lead the Commonwealth election observers to monitor the parliamentary and presidential elections in Sierra Leone.

He will remain in the country for the rest of the month, and after concluding the process, his team will report on the election’s credibility after the exercise.

The Osinbajo’s COG, according to the constituted body, the Commonwealth, is made up of 12 distinguished members from more than 10 different countries across the Commonwealth, with international expertise in law, politics, election administration, human rights, media, gender and diplomacy.

It also informed that the COG will be supported by an 8-member team from the Commonwealth Secretariat, led by the Head of Electoral Support, Mr Linford Andrews.

The COG was constituted by the Commonwealth Secretary-General, the Rt Hon Patricia Scotland KC, following an invitation from the Election Commission of Sierra Leone.

It will be the fifth time for a Commonwealth Observer Group to observe elections in Sierra Leone, since the end of the civil war in 2002.

ALSO READ: Commonwealth names Osinbajo leader of elections observer group in Sierra Leone

Below are the members of the Commonwealth Observer Group:

Chairperson: H.E. Yemi Osinbajo, Former Vice President of Nigeria

Observers (in alphabetical order of nationality):

• Mr John Njie, National General Secretary (Executive Director) of The Gambia YMCA & National Coordinator of the CSO Transitional Justice Working Group, The Gambia.

• Lady Anande Trotman-Joseph, President, Caribbean Women in Leadership & Chairperson, Commonwealth Caribbean Association of Integrity Commissions and Anti-Corruption Bodies, Grenada.

• Dr Nasim Zaidi, Former Chairman & Chief Election Commissioner, India
Hon Justice Amraphael Mbogholi Msagha, Retired Judge, Kenya.

• Mr Sangwani Mwafulirwa, Director, Media and Public Relations, Malawi
Dr Elsie Nghikembua, Chairperson, Electoral Commission, Namibia.

• Ms Cynthia Mbamalu, Co-Founder and Director of Programmes, Yiaga Africa, Nigeria.

• Mr Glen Mashinini, Commissioner, Electoral Commission, South Africa
Justice Rohini Marasinghe, Chairperson of The Human Rights Commission and Former Supreme Court Judge, Sri Lanka.

• Mr Wesley Gibbings, Journalist/Media Trainer, Trinidad & Tobago
Ms Elizabeth Lwanga King, Development Advisor and Former UN Resident Coordinator and UNDP Representative in Sierra Leone, Uganda.

The Commonwealth Secretariat appointing the COGs is one of the original signatories to the 2005 Declaration of Principles for International Election Observation.

As such, Commonwealth Observer Groups abide by the Commonwealth’s Revised Guidelines for the Conduct of Election Observation in Member Countries, which were adopted at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting in London in 2018.

According to the Commonwealth Secretariat, it stipulates that COGs are “Independent, including of the Secretariat. Members of a COG are invited by the Secretary-General to be a part of the team and each member is invited in their personal capacity as an eminent Commonwealth citizen, not as a representative of any member country, government or political group.”