INEC: Akeredolu wins Ondo governorship election

The jubilant Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu

The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, the incumbent Governor Rotimi Akeredolu winner of Saturday’s governorship election in Ondo the state, having polled the highest score of 292,830 votes.

Akeredolu defeated the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Eyitayo Jegede, who polled 195,791 votes, and his estranged Deputy Governor, Agboola Ajayi, of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), who came a distant third with 69, 127 votes.

The Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan, Prof Idowu Olayinka, who is the Ondo State Election Chief Returning Officer , making the announcement on Sunday at the INEC headquarters in Akure, said: “I hereby certify that I am the returning officer of the Ondo State election and that the election was conducted and the candidates received the following votes – Oluwarotimi Akeredolu got 292,830, Eyitayo Jegede got 195,791 and Agboola Ajayi got 69,127.

ALSO READ: BREAKING NEWS: Nigeria’s IG of Police dissolves SARS

“That Oluwarotimi Akeredolu secured the highest number of votes among the 17 contestants. Moreover, he was expected to score 25 per cent in two-thirds of the state but he scored it across the 18 LGAs.

“Consequently, having satisfied the requirements of the law, I hereby declare Akeredolu as the winner and he is hereby returned elected.”