APC: Adamu emerges National Chairman, Omisore National Secretary at #APCNationalConvention

Above: New APC National Chairman, Adamu Abdullahi (centre), after his emergence standing with Yobe State Governor Mai Mala Buni, the Chairman, APC Caretaker/Extra-ordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC) (left). Below: New APC National Secretary, Senator Iyiola Omisore (right) and Osun State Governor Adegboyega Oyetola (centre), at the APC National Convention venue, Eagle Square, Abuja, on Saturday, March 26, 2022

Senator Abdullahi Adamu, former Nasarawa State governor, has emerged the new National Chairman, while Senator Iyiola Omisore, former Osun State deputy governor, became the new National Secretary of the All Progressives Congress (APC) at the 2022 National Convention of the party.

Both plus others were announced as the new National Working Committee (NWC) members of the APC late Saturday night at its well attended national convention which held at the Eagle Square, Abuja, on March 26, 2022.

Adamu had emerged as the consensus candidate of the party after six other aspirants stepped down, same for Omisore who got enlisted in the unity list of the consensus candidates from the South-West caucus of the party.

As gathered, President Muhammadu Buhari, who had called top party members to resolve at adopting the consensus option for the new NWC members to emerge was particularly interested in five offices, namely National Chairman, Deputy National Chairman (North), Deputy National Chairman (South), National Secretary and National Organising Secretary, to put the party in a better shape.

It was this arrangement well followed up that produced Abdullahi as a consensus candidate, while the South West caucus equally opted for Senator Iyiola Omisore, as their preferred candidate for the NWC position.

Delegates drawn from the 36 states of Nigeria and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Abuja, numbering 7,584, had, from the early hours of Saturday started converging on the Eagles Square, Abuja, to elect the the of National Working Council (NWC) members for the party.

At least, 169 aspirants who have been cleared after obtaining nomination forms to contest for various positions in the NWC of the APC were on the ground ready for elections expected to be keenly contested.

Among all, top contenders party positions include Senator Abdullahi Adamu, a former governor of Nasarawa State and former Governor George Akume, both for the National Chairmanship of the party before he, Akume, earlier on Saturday revealed that six of the APC Chairmanship aspirants had withdrawn from the race.

ALSO READ: What Buni discussed with Buhari in London

Akume, presently the Minister of Special Duties, was a frontrunner in the chairmanship race before the reported endorsement of Senator Abdullahi Adamu by President Buhari.

Prior to this period, Akume made the revelation in a letter addressed to the APC Election Sub-Committee, National Secretariat, Abuja.

Adamu was, therefore, declared winner at the convention after a voice vote in which the ‘ayes’ had it, in the convention which also had both President Muhammadu Buhari and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo in attendance.

Others prominent party men present at the convention include President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, APC governors, former Governor of Lagos State, Bola Tinubu and other party members as well as delegates.

Below are the new NWC members of APC:

1. Abdullahi Adamu – National Chairman

2. Abubakar Kyari – Deputy National Chairman (North)

3. Ema Enaukwu – Deputy National Chairman (South)

4. Otunba Omisore – National Secretary

5. Festus Fuanter – Deputy National Secretary

6. Muhazu Rijau – National Vice Chairman (North Central)

7. Mustapha Salihu – National Vice Chairman (North East)

8. Salihu Lukman – National Vice Chairman (North West)

9. Ijeoma Arodiogwu – National Vice Chairman (South East)

10. Victor Giadom – National Vice Chairman (South South)

11. Isaac Kekemeke – National Vice Chairman (South West)

12. Ahmed El-Marzuk – National Legal Adviser

13. Uguru Ofoke – National Treasurer

14. Bashir Gumel – National Financial Secretary

15. Suleiman Argungun – National Organising Secretary.

16. Ahmed El-Marzuk – National Legal Adviser

17. Beta Edu – National Woman Leader

18. Abdulahi Dayo Israel – National Youth Leader

19. Tolu Bankole – Special Persons Leader

20. Uguru Ofoke – National Treasurer

21. F.N Nwosu – National Welfare Secretary

22. Felix Morka – National Publicity Secretary

23. Abubakar Maikafi – National Auditor

23. Bashir Gumel – National Financial Secretary

24. Suleiman Argungun – National Organising Secretary

25. Ibrahim Salawu – Deputy National Legal Adviser

26. Omorede Osifo – Deputy National Treasurer