Oyo, Kebbi, Osun, Kwara, Jigawa, Kano declare July 8 public holiday

L-R: Governors Seyi Makinde, Ademola Adeleke, Nasir Idris (top), Yusuf Abba, Umar Namadi and AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq (below)

By Marvellous Nyang

In the lead-up to the start of the new Islamic calendar year, Hijrah 1446, several state governments in Nigeria have declared Monday, July 8, 2024, as a public holiday to allow citizens to celebrate the occasion.

The states that have officially announced the public holiday include:

Oyo State
Governor Seyi Makinde declared July 8 as a work-free day to enable Muslims in the state to celebrate the significant Islamic occasion. In a statement, the state government recognized the importance of the Hijrah in the lives of the Muslim faithful, stating that the holiday was “a gesture of respect and solidarity with the Muslim community.”

Kebbi State
Kebbi State Governor Nasir Idris also approved the public holiday on July 8 to “enable Muslim Ummah in the state to celebrate the incoming New Islamic Year,” according to the Commissioner for Establishment, Auwal Dogodaji. This decision by the Kebbi state government underscores its commitment to providing its Muslim population the opportunity to observe and commemorate the start of Hijrah 1446.

Osun State
Joining Oyo and Kebbi, Osun State Governor Ademola Adeleke declared July 8 as a public holiday, appealing to the Islamic faithful to use the occasion to “pray for peace, progress and development of the State and Nigeria as a whole.” The Osun State government, through this declaration, has demonstrated its recognition of the cultural and spiritual significance of the Hijrah New Year celebrations within the state.

Kwara State
Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq of Kwara State also declared Monday a work-free day, urging the Muslim community to use the occasion for introspection and to promote tolerance, mutual respect, and justice.

ALSO READ: Keir Starmer takes power as PM in UK, pledges national renewal following Labour landslide

Jigawa State
Governor Umar Namadi of Jigawa State joined the list of states celebrating the Islamic New Year and declared Monday a public holiday. He congratulated the Muslim community and encouraged them to pray for peace, prosperity, and unity in the state and country.

Kano State
The Kano State Government also declared Monday a public holiday to mark the Islamic New Year. Governor Yusuf Abba urged citizens to reflect on the past year and engage in positive activities that will benefit everyone. He called on the Muslim community to pray for continuous peace and progress in the state and the country at large.

The new Islamic year, Hijrah 1446, is set to begin on Sunday, July 7, 2024.

The Hijrah, which marks the migration of Prophet Muhammad from Mecca to Medina, is a pivotal moment in Islamic history. It serves as the starting point of the Islamic calendar and is celebrated by Muslims worldwide as a time for reflection, prayer, and community spirit.